What God Ordains

I learned of this extraordinary hymn, penned by Samuel Rodigast (1648-1708) in listening to Just Thinking Podcast on “A Biblical Theology of Suffering” (Ep. #121), 2 1/2 hours well spent!

1 What God ordains is always good:
his will is just and holy.
As he directs my life for me,
I follow meek and lowly.
My God indeed in ev’ry need
knows well how he will shield me;
to him, then, I will yield me.

2 What God ordains is always good:
he never will deceive me;
he leads me in his righteous way
and never will he leave me.
I take content what he has sent;
his hand that sends me sadness
will turn my tears to gladness.

3 What God ordains is always good:
though I the cup am drinking
which savors now of bitterness,
I take it without shrinking.
For after grief God grants relief,
my heart with comfort filling
and all my sorrow stilling.

4 What God ordains is always good:
this truth remains unshaken.
Though sorrow, need, or death be mine,
I shall not be forsaken.
I fear no harm, for with his arm
he will embrace and shield me;
so to my God I yield me.

Indeed, all comes from our God, and is both providential and profitable.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. – Romans 8:18

About Dr. Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What God Ordains

  1. This is really beautiful, Barry!!!! Thank you for sharing this!!!! 🧡🧡🧡🙏🙏🙏

Leave a comment