Worship

Your worship of God is only as high as your theology is deep!

– Steve Lawson 

About Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worship

  1. Ron Denlinger says:

    A very thought provoking quote. I had to think about it a while before agreeing with it. Here was my struggle.

    First, I hesitate to make any statement that might take away from the importance of accurate, deep study of truth of who God is and what he has done. I agree this is so fundational to worship. How can we worship what we do not know.

    But secondly, I think of Warren Wiersbe’s definition of worship (not verbatim): Worship is the response of the whole person to all of who God is and what he has done.

    It is possible that Satan and his demons have a more accurate and in that sense “deeper” theology than many of us do. And yet, he refuses to worship at all. On the other hand, the man born blind came to say, “all I know is that once I was blind, but now I can see.” Shortly after he found the one who gave him sight, “He worshipped him.” That individual’s theology might not have been very deep, but he certainly was a great worshipper.

    Bottom line: I think the statement is true. Perhaps the following might be added to the quote. “Sadly, very few worship in height equal to their understanding of the depth of God’s greatness.”

    I personally am convicted as I think of what an all self-abasing, praise filled, obedient life I should be living based on the grasp of theological truth that I possess (thanks to excellent teaching and many years of personal study).

Leave a Reply

