No Petition, Just Praise!

Try to picture yourself in the following situation, crying out to God:

You cast me into the depths of the seas, and the current surrounded me. All Your breakers and Yourjonah waves passed over me. Then I said, I am cast off from Your eyes…Waters encompassed me, even to the soul; the depth closed around me; the seaweed was bound to my head. I went down to the bottoms of the mountains; the earth with her bars was around me forever…

Recognize the speaker? Yes, it’s that stubborn, rebellious prophet Jonah, who attempted the impossible, running away from God! He shouldn’t have bothered (see Psalm 139).

Yet, while in the the damp, dark, fetid chamber of this great fish, Jonah never asks for rescue! I think that would have been at the top of my prayer list!

His words throughout chapter 2, however, are words of faith and praise:

…I will look again toward Your holy temple (v. 4) You have brought up my life from the pit, O Jehovah my God (v. 6) When my soul fainted within me, I remembered Jehovah; and my prayer came in to You, into Your holy temple. (v. 7) I will sacrifice to You with the voice of thanksgiving; I will fulfill that which I have vowed. Salvation belongs to Jehovah! (v. 9)

I think we have something to learn from this Petulant Prophet!

The Apostle Paul “got it!”  …And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for you: for My strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Cor. 12:9

About Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

