If God feels far away…

A well-intentioned and challenging statement: “If God feels far away, guess who moved?”

However, when we consider this statement from the viewpoint of Holy Writ, we find something quite different. Consider these words of the Psalmist:
Psa 139:9-12  If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the furthest parts of the sea; the-universe-you-are-here
even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.  If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me, even the night shall be light around me. Yea, the darkness does not hide from You; but the night shines as the day; as is the darkness, so is the light to You.

Or the words of Christ himself as quoted in Hebrews 13:5 – …I will never leave you, nor forsake you.

Oh, He may FEEL far away to you, but if you turn around to come back, you’ll run right into Him!

I don’t know about you, but I find this TREMENDOUSLY comforting at times!

About Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If God feels far away…

  1. Jere says:

    Barry, I find God’s omnipresence to be comforting, and beyond comforting. Sometimes it is indeed uncomfortable, to know that God is always with me. I love His presence when I feel in need of His care and protection. I love His presence when I am celebrating His love and provision. Knowing He will not forsake me is the very rock solid foundation of my faith. He knows who and what I am and how He will use me, this earthen ware pot, to His glory. He IS mercy and forgiveness. But I see how often I fail Him and wonder how He can still love me, forgetting that He knew ALL about me before the foundation of the world. He planned my life. I can trust His character and His sovereign plan for me, in every moment and season.

Leave a Reply

