God, Dr. Who and the TARDIS

ImageIn the Dr. Who episode (OK, I admit I’m a BIG fan), “The Doctor’s Wife,” the Doctor has the unique opportunity to talk to the TARDIS (Time And Relative Dimension In Space – his time travel machine/spacecraft, shaped like a 1960’s style London police box) in the guise of a young lady named Idris. It’s the first time he has ever had the chance to communicate directly with her.

This extraordinary episode includes the following dialogue, with a powerful Scriptural application…

The Doctor: “You know, since we’re talking with mouths—not really an opportunity that comes along very often—I just want to say, you know you have never been very reliable.”

Idris: “And you have?”

The Doctor: “You didn’t always take me where I wanted to go.”

Idris: “No, but I always took you where you needed to go.”

The Doctor: “You did.”

Here are some “Chapters and Verses” for you….

God says: “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle.” (Psalm 32:8, 9)

Writer of Proverbs: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5, 6)

And one more: “A man’s heart devises his way: but the Lord directs his steps.” (Prov. 16:9)

Me, to God: “You didn’t always take me where I wanted to go.”

God, to me: “No, but I always took you where you needed to go”.

About Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

