“How Long, God?!”

In the 1965 movie The Agony and the Ecstasy, Pope Julius II (played by Rex Harrison), pleads with Michelango (Charlton Heston) regarding the completion of his work on the Agony and EcstasySistine Chapel. The dialogue goes like this:

Pope Julius II: When will you make an end?
Michelangelo: When I am finished!

A similar question to God is posed throughout Scriptures. Here are a few examples:
Psa 13:1 How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?
Psa 35:17 Lord, how long will you look on? rescue my soul from their destructions, my darling from the lions.
Psa 74:10 O God, how long shall the adversary reproach? shall the enemy blaspheme your name for ever?

As God takes His time (Psa 90:4 For a thousand years in thy sight are but as yesterday when it is past, and as a watch in the night.), the Psalmists respond:
Psa 13:5, 6 But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation. I will sing unto the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.
Psa 35:18 I will give you thanks in the great congregation: I will praise you among much people.
Psa 74:12 For God is my King of old, working salvation in the midst of the earth.

The ultimate answer to the challenges, sadness and frustrations of life in this fallen world is to WORSHIP GOD.

The Psalmists’ circumstances had not changed, but their perspective had!

Rom 8:18  For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

About Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Bible Truth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

