Aslan and the Brook

One of my FAVORITE Aslan quotes. Lewis can be SO profound!

In C.S. Lewis’ book, The Silver Chair, Jill is lost and thirsty in a strange land. She finds a brook, but she sees Aslan the Lion lying beside the water. Aslan growls and tells her she may come and drink.

“May I … could I … would you mind going away while I drink?” said Jill.

The Lion answered with a look and a very low growl and as Jill gazed at its motionless bulk, she realized that she might as well have asked the whole mountain to move aside for her convenience. The delicious rippling noise of the stream was driving her nearly frantic.

“Do you promise not to – do anything to me if I do come?” said Jill.

“I make no promise,” said the Lion.

Jill was so thirsty now that, without noticing it, she had come a step nearer.

“Do you eat girls?” she said.

“I have swallowed up girls and boys, women and men, kings and emperors, cities and realms,” said the Lion.

It didn’t say this as if it were boasting, nor as if it were sorry, nor as if it were angry. It just said it.

“I daren’t come and drink,” said Jill.

“Then you will die of thirst,” said the Lion.

“Oh, dear!” said Jill, coming another step nearer. “I suppose I must go and look for another stream then.”

“There is no other stream,” said the Lion.

(Acts 4:12 – “And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved.”)

About Dr. Barry Davis

Career Coach | Professor | Speaker | Blogger | Minister | Marathoner "What You Do should be Who You Are..."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment